External Awards

American Heart Association Women in Cardiology Mentoring Award
  • Recognizes individuals who have an outstanding record of effectively mentoring women cardiologists and underscores the importance of mentoring in the professional development of women.

Women in Endocrinology Mentoring Award

  •  Awarded annually to a woman or man whose outstanding scientific achievements are coupled with a record of support for women in academics and of mentoring women in their scientific careers.
  •  The recipient receives an honorarium of $1000 and travel expenses to the Annual WE Meeting, which is held in conjunction with the Endocrine Society Meeting.

Society of General and Internal Medicine Mid‐Career Research and Mentorship Award

  • Recognizes the mentoring activities of general medicine investigators.
  • The annual award is presented at SGIM’s Annual Meeting, for which SGIM provides a complimentary Annual Meeting registration.

American Association of Immunologists (AAI) Excellence in Mentoring Award

  • Recognizes the importance of this mentor‐trainee relationship. AAI honors the award recipient’s contributions to the profession through outstanding mentoring.
  • The award includes a plaque, meeting registration at the early rate, and travel support to the AAI Annual Meeting.

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

  •  Recognizes a medical school faculty physician who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.

Society for Women in Urology Christina Manthos Mentoring Award

  • Recognizes men or women who demonstrate extraordinary mentoring skills in supporting the career of a female urologist.

American Association for the Advancement of Science Mentor Awards

Lifetime Mentor Award

  • A prize of $5,000 is awarded to an individual who has served in the role of mentor for 25 or more years.

Mentor Award

  • A prize of $5,000 is awarded to an individual who has served in the role of mentor for fewer than 25 years.
  • Both AAAS Mentor Awards honor individuals who during their careers demonstrate extraordinary leadership to increase the participation of underrepresented groups in science and engineering fields and careers. These groups include: women of all racial or ethnic groups; African American, Native American, and Hispanic men; and people with disabilities.

 Society of Scientists Dedicated to Advancing Hispanics/Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS)

SACNAS Distinguished Undergraduate Institution Mentor Award

  • Holds a PhD or other doctorate degree and a faculty position at a four‐year undergraduate institution.
  •  Participates in minority education activities at the local and/or national level.

SACNAS Distinguished Professional Mentor Award

  • Holds a staff or administrative position at a college or university, within government, or in private industry for at least 10 years.
  • Participates in minority education, advocacy, or mentoring activities at the local and/or national level.
  • Awards are open to nominees who have a demonstrated record of encouraging minority students to pursue advanced science degrees, in addition to the eligibility requirements for the specific award.
  • More information on SACNAS awards